The Arkansas Aging Initiative's Centers on Aging are an integral and vital part of the communities they serve.  The Centers on Aging are supported by Regional Advisory Committees whose members represent all segments of the population.  Members are invited to serve on Regional Advisory Committees based upon their interest in furthering the Arkansas Aging Initiative's mission to improve health outcomes of older Arkansans residing in rural areas through interdisciplinary clinical care and innovative education programs.

The advisory committees are organized and chaired by one of its members. Many of the Advisory Committee Chairs are also members of the Reynolds Institute on Aging Community Advisory Board. The Chairs work closely with the Director and Education Director of the Centers on Aging in setting goals and developing activities.

The Advisory Committees meet quarterly, and more often if necessary.  Most of the Committees have as their primary objectives:

  • Being an advocate for the Center on Aging and interpreting its programs to the community,
  • Assisting the COA Staff with a continuous needs assessment of the region,
  • Acting as liaison between the COA and local, regional and state officials,
  • Maintaining a working relationship with regional State Senators and Representatives,
  • Recommending local facilities for the Center on Aging,
  • Identifying potential donors and assisting with program support
  • Keeping the Center on Aging abreast of impotent community issues

The following is a list of the Regional Advisory Committees and their Chairs

  • Center on Aging-Northeast, Jonesboro, Dr. Don Vollman, chair,
  • Delta Center on Aging, West Memphis, Keith Ingram, chair
  • Oaklawn Senior Health Care Center, Hot Springs, Darrell Meyer, chair
  • Schmieding Center for Senior Health and Education, Springdale, chair, vacant
  • South Arkansas Center on Aging, El Dorado, Charles Thomas, chair
  • South Central Center on Aging, Pine Bluff, Ann White, chair
  • Texarkana Regional Center on Aging, Texarkana, Phil Bishop, chair
  • West Central Center on Aging, Ft. Smith, Mary Ellen Jesson, chair